top of page

Restaurant Review: Danfo Bistro

The bustling city of Lagos has become a thriving hub for restaurants providing cuisines and experiences from all over the world. Gone are the days where the options when dining out were limited.


It is amazing how many new restaurants do not only offer you an interesting culinary adventure but have gone ahead to make it an experience.


The amazing thing about Danfo Bistro is that they serve Nigerian food with a twist. They have elevated Nigerian food from your average bukka experience to a fusion of the vibrant and diverse energy of Lagos to a culinary and visual experience. To dine at Danfo is to experience the ever evolving and interesting vibe of Lagos.


Located in the heart of the affluent Ikoyi neigbourhood, Danfo caters to different people from different walks of life. People journey from all over Lagos for the Danfo experience. Their Ewa goin, bread and plantain combo has been trending all over social media for the few months that they have been open and interest is not waning. Notably, the good folks at Danfo have found a way to keep the people happy by constantly evolving their menu and adding new experiences. The Danfo you know today won’t be the same Danfo tomorrow.


I decided to pay them a visit and enjoy the Danfo experience. After going through their menu, I decided on trying their Nigerian inspired spaghetti bolognese with plantain and ribs. While waiting for my food I ordered for their white sangria.


Their White sangria was most refreshing. It had huge chunks of fresh fruits in it. It was so good I didn’t have to order a starter. They definitely did not skimp on the fruit portions in the drink and it was worth every penny. I highly recommend.


While waiting, I decided to explore the ambience of the restaurant. Sadly I couldn’t take many pictures as they restaurant was filled and I did not want to intrude on people’s privacy. The decor is definitely interesting and it is similar to dining in an exhibition.





They also have a rooftop area that is absolutley amazing. Oooh guess what? They host nights where they play house music! I love house music and their rooftop definitely has the right vibe for you to enjoy house music and just get lost in the vibe.

The rooftop offers you a nice view of the surrounding area. Loads of graffiti, interesting furniture and my favourite, a bar made from a Danfo bus. A Danfo bus is a mode of transportation peculiar to the great city of Lagos. It is amazing!!!!





Back to the food. So my food finally arrived and it was worth the wait. It had just the right amount of everything and I highly recommend. The rib was tender and there was no struggle to eat it. It was not too spicy so if you love spicy food, you might to ask for a bit of extra.


The food was great and my only grouse was the portion, I almost asked for seconds. Oliver Twist vibes *wink.


I had a great experience at Danfo Bistro and I definitely will be back over and over again. After I visited they added more stuff to their menu and I can’t wait to try them.


I highly recommend a visit to Danfo Bistro and if you do, please tell me about your experience.


Until next time, love and light



Comments


bottom of page