top of page

Lunch at Salma’s


The city of Lagos, Nigeria, is home to various restaurants that serve cuisines from all over the world. Some stick to cuisine from one part of the world and some have extensive menus. Salmas, located in Victoria Island Lagos, specializes in Lebanese food and boy, are they awesome at it!


My friend was visiting from London and wanted a stress free lunch spot that serves delicious food with great ambience. The selection was an easy one for me as I had been to Salma’s a couple of times and their food is always great, no fail.


The decor at Salma’s is beautiful! I have never really gotten the chance to enjoy it as I usually go at night and it is most times packed. They have both indoor and outdoor seating and both are amazing, you can not go wrong with either. The restaurant is well lit and beautifully spaced, I am a lover of well spaced restaurants. Whoever did the decor did an outstanding job, right from the entrance into the restaurant, every detail is a delight.


Salma’s has great customer service. They have curated the dining experience to make dining at their restaurant a pleasurable and stress free experience for everyone. Their menus have pictures and detailed explanations of almost all their meals and their waiters are properly trained to help customers make the right choice. It is rare in Lagos to find waiters who are knowledgeable on what offerings are on their menu. I am always impressed by their service.


My friend and I ordered a wide range of dishes, we were hungry and ready to try many things on the menu as they all looked delicious.


For starters, we ordered Falafels and the Salma’s special calamari and for my drink, I had the Blue Ocean. It was my first time trying a falafel and honestly, to me it tasted like akara, which is a Nigerian breakfast staple made from blended beans and then fried. They had the spicy option but we ordered the regular ones, I will hopefully try the spicy option on my next visit.

The abundance of veggies was very welcome as they were super fresh and well sliced. I liked the falafel and it tasted well prepared. Personally I liked the taste, crispy on the outside and soft on the inside.


The Salma’s special calamari is something else, I almost snuck into the kitchen to beg for the recipe. The sauce tasted divine! Still going to beg them to either give me the recipe or ask if I can buy a tub of the sauce. The taste exploded in my mouth and made me think only happy thoughts. I recommend that everyone, I mean everyone! tries it.


My cocktail Blue Ocean was perfect! I actually tasted alcohol! Not watered down sweet syrup. It was the perfect blend of sweet and alcohol. It also looked pretty, I mean, look at this.

I need to mention again how all veggies and fruits were all so fresh.


For main, ordered the spicy kafta and vegetable fried rice. The spicy kafta was well made and delicious. However, I did not like the vegetable fried rice, took about 3 bites and I was sure it was not for me. I was not feeling the taste and neither was my friend, not sure what was wrong, but I won’t dwell. The vegetable fried rice was the only thing we didn’t like. We were so happy with everything else we did not even make a complaint about the rice.


After all of these, we were stuffed and ready to throw in the towel, but the management at Salma’s were just starting with us. We were served complimentary fresh fruits, we couldn’t refuse. Before we were done, we were also given complimentary desserts. How we were able to eat all of these is still a mystery to me. The desserts were delightful.



Our lunch at Salma’s was a remarkable one for sure and I am pleased that my friend had a memorable experience that afternoon.


I highly recommend Salma’s to everyone. If you have never tried Lebanese food, Salma’s is a great place to usher you into the beautiful culinary experience that is Lebanese food.






Comentários


bottom of page