top of page

A night out at Izumi, Kampala


The city of Kampala, Uganda was great to me on my short trip, even the intense heat could not taint the joy I felt every minute I was there.


A few hours before I had to head to the airport back to my home country, friends and family decided on a night out and I was happy to oblige even though we basically just got back into town after a 3 hour journey from Jinja (another town in Uganda) back to Kampala.

Our restaurant of choice was Izumi. As I did not know much about Kampala, I was not involved in the selection process but I trusted the people I was with and decided to enjoy the ride and I am glad I went along even though I was a bit apprehensive about the timing as I had less than 4 hours to be at the airport.


Izumi is a restaurant and lounge that serves Japanese and Thai food, their menu was a true reflection of that. There were several options including sushi, there was definitely something for everyone.


Before we continue talking about the food, I must mention that I loved the decor and it was evident that a lot of thought was put into designing the restaurant. First of all, the restaurant is situated at upper Kololo which is basically on a hill and it reminded me of upper Bergamo in Italy and the beautiful city of Ibadan, Nigeria. The position of the restaurant is very beautiful and it has outdoor sitting which provides the customer the opportunity to enjoy the beautiful vibes outside. As we had had enough of the heat, we opted to sit inside.


The ambience inside did not disappoint, it is a spacious place and there was no tight sitting arrangement. There was enough room and it almost felt like we had a section to our selves even though the restaurant was busy. The lighting was just perfect as it was not too bright nor too dim, the lighting created a beautiful ambience complimenting the decor and lighting of their beautiful bar area.


After going through their menu, we finally decided on our options. For my drink, I ordered the Singapore sling and for food we ordered to share shrimp fried rice, beef teriyaki and Thai red curry. Our drinks arrived first and I was happy with my choice. It had a balanced amount of alcohol, not overpowering and not underwhelming. The cocktail was superbly prepared and I definitely enjoyed it.


When our food arrived, the presentation was appealing and we couldn't wait to dig in. We were not disappointed as everything tasted delicious and well prepared. The Thai red curry was especially delicious and one of the best I have ever tasted. If I wasn't travelling shortly, definitely would have ordered another portion of everything.

The service was professional and efficient. Right from when you arrive, they provide valet parking. Once you enter the restaurant , you are seated promptly and they provide free wiFi. As a visitor in another country, we all know free wiFi is king. If you value great customer service, you will not be disappointed.


I honestly have no complaints, I enjoyed my night out at Izumi and I definitely will be visiting again on my next trip to Uganda and I highly recommend you visit if you're ever in that neck of the woods.




Comentarios


bottom of page