top of page

Nostalgic Magic by Elpis Megalio



Elpis Megalio a Luxury wearable art fashion brand based in Nigeria recently launched a new collection Nostalgic Magic.

The collection was displayed at a week long fashion exhibition in collaboration with other Nigerian Designers and the reviews were amazing!

The creative Director Olufunke Afolabi had this to say about the collection.

My Interpretation of Vintage

Fashion is one of the most amazing things that has happened to earth, (I know this sounds very cheesy but it is). Growing up, I loved wearing my mother’s clothes and shoes including my father’s. I loved to experiment by throwing things together, I would sometimes jazz up my outfit with a wine velvet cap with gold embroidery my dad got from his dad. I have fond memories from the past and things were so much easier now, things have changed. It seems that as the world grew more hostile, we started to forget all the good things life was and old and pleasant memories have started to fade and has become nothing but a distant memory. These memories are now being replaced with pain and regret. Now a days, people prefer to be on their phones at home as opposed to throwing weekly dinner parties, going to the theatre, going to the country club or going to the opera. In fact any excuse to wear fine clothing and enjoy the joys of being alive is dead on arrival. Fashion has evolved into something unrecognisable. When you look at the amazing pieces Madam Chanel, Monsieur Givenchy, Versace, Oscar De La Renta, Valentino etc blessed us with and what offerings we are given today, it is a far cry from glamour, fine tailoring, fine cuts and beautiful fabrics. Fast fashion and the quest to remain relevant has made us forget what wonders fashion has given us. It seems as if the old world is dying right before our eyes and we have given room to mediocrity. Our memories of what fashion was and what it should be have been desecrated and it is sad to see. To me, Vintage fashion is glamour, untainted happiness, quality tailoring, beautiful and alluring fabrics that feel like they are caressing your skin, dresses that make you feel like a queen and makes you feel like the life of the party who lights up every room you walk into. These memories are fast fading away before our very eyes and I hope we do not allow it fade away, but we all come together to keep the memories alive. I am very happy for you to visit our vintage set to see what vintage fashion means to me, even though it is a distant memory to us all. I hope beneath all the cobwebs of time, we can still see the beauty and be reminded that life is not so bad after all. Thank you

Olufunke Afolabi Creative Director Elpis Megalio


Photos from the lookbook.
















Photography: Mikael B

Styling: Rien Styling

Creative Direction: Artrovia

Model: Ethmalos

ความคิดเห็น


bottom of page