top of page

I Found Peace in Uganda


I had the amazing opportunity to visit Uganda for the second time in March. I visited only Kampala on my first trip.

On my recent trip, I was lucky to visit another part of Uganda, Jinja. Jinja is about three to four hours drive from Kampala. The road trip was smooth, though the highways are a bit narrow, making over taking a heart in your mouth experience, it was still an interesting journey. On getting to Jinja, for me it was akin to time travel, I felt like I was back in the 90s in a good way.

Jinja is a quiet tourist town with loads of water touristy activities such as Kayaking, bungee jumping where you can actually touch the river Nile, quad biking, jet skiing and the main attraction, which is visiting the source of the river Nile via a boat ride. The river Nile flows from Lake Victoria to Egypt. How cool is that?! I was in town for a wedding and I knew there wasn’t a lot of time to explore as much as I would have loved but I was lucky enough to visit the source of the Nile and that was a great experience for me as it was a fun experience I got to share with my family.

It is always a pleasure to visit Uganda. Ugandans are very welcoming and I can’t explain it but, on this trip I felt happy and very at peace and I was sad my trip was a short one.


Even the the view from my room was breathtaking. This is an unedited picture I took on my first evening.

I had just a few hours to explore Jinja and I chose to visit the source of the Nile. That’s the most famous thing Jinja is known for and it was an obvious choice. So off we went. We had to go through a tourist arts and crafts market to get to where the boats were, ready to take us on our journey. This boat trip was for one hour, 30 minutes on Lake Victoria to the source of The Nile, where there is a beautiful gallery right at the source of the Nile Where we got off and explored for a couple of minutes before heading back. Breathtaking views all around and I was so proud to be African.

Will let the pictures do most of the talking on this post and I hope you feel what I felt looking at these pictures. Hopefully, I’ll get to visit again and do a proper post and tell you more about Jinja.






Everyone should visit Uganda, it is a great country to visit and they do have loads of fun tourist activities for everyone to enjoy. I can’t wait to go back.

Comments


bottom of page